Location, Location, Location!

A craze is sweeping genie-blogland. We’re all having some fun mapping out our trees by location rather than name. And it has been very interesting seeing the results. I decided to join in the fun…

A flurry of posts appeared over the last day or two on the Australian Local & Family History Bloggers FB page where a number of genie-bloggers have been playing around with spreadsheets mapping out the locations of where their families were born. If you want to have a go yourself, GeniAus has posted some instructions on her blog.

I couldn’t miss out on the fun, so here is my take on a Location Pedigree Chart.

I decided to do one for my family tree and one for my husband’s – at least for his mother’s line. I’m only researching this half of his tree as someone else in his family is doing his father’s line.

The first thing you may notice is that, even with just half a tree, my husband’s family is so much more interesting than my boring tree. I reckon his family were all born with itchy feet because they seem to be constantly on the move.

The second thing you may notice is that in my tree I am a Lancashire Lass through and through on my Dad’s side of the family. Thank goodness for the excellent quality and quantity of Lancashire records online, especially the Online Parish Clerks for Lancashire!

Due to this heavy preponderance of Lancastrian ancestors, I’ve shaded the English counties on my tree in different variations of blue. So, the key is as follows:

BLUE: England
RED: Wales
GREEN: Ireland
YELLOW: Australia
ORANGE: New Zealand
PURPLE: Germany
BROWN: Newfoundland

My Family Tree:

FamilyLocation-6Gen-1

My Husband’s Maternal Family Tree:

FamilyLocation-6Gen-2

 

As you can imagine, just about every occupation in the weaving industry is covered by my ancestors in my father’s tree.

If you would like to see what everyone else is up to, here are some links:

This entry was posted in Genealogy and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Location, Location, Location!

  1. GeniAus says:

    Thanks for the mention – It was fun. I’m keen to do charts for my grandchildren as they seem to be interested in these graphic representations.

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to hear from you.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.