#CemeteryDay – Toowong Cemetery

Spooky Toowong Cemetery

 

Blogger Alona Tester of Lonetester HQ has proposed that the 18th June be henceforth known as “Cemetery Day” and is encouraging every genealogically-minded person to become involved – whether sharing photos, writing stories or just visiting the local cemetery. I have some photos I never used on my posts about my trip to Toowong Cemetery so I thought I’d share them today.

Toowong Cemetery is Queensland’s largest cemetery – and at 44 hectares with over 119,000 people buried there, you can see why. Some parts of the cemetery have steep hills with graves packed together making it very difficult to move amongst them as you search for your ancestors. Other sections have gentle slopes and broad areas of bright green grass between solitary graves. And you know what that often means in an old cemetery – unmarked graves, the curse of the genealogy cemetery hunter.

Originally named Brisbane General Cemetery, it was opened in 1866 but not formally opened until 1875. In 2002, it was added to the Queensland Heritage Register. The Cemetery’s Register listing has a wonderful amount of detail about the significance and history of Towoong Cemetery and is well worth the read.

If you are visiting Brisbane and are interested in a more personal experience of Toowong Cemetery, then you should know the volunteers of The Friends of Toowong Cemetery hold monthly Heritage Walks at the cemetery for just the cost of a gold coin! Also available to download on their site are booklets providing background stories about a number of the people buried in the cemetery that are mentioned during the various themed Heritage Walks.

Toowong Cemetery was my very first cemetery excursion and I was woefully underprepared. I wrote all about my experiences in my post, Toowong Cemetery Visit: Adventures in Confusion and Dehydration.

And you can read about what I was able to find in my follow up post, Toowong Cemetery: So What Did I Find?

I have many photos which were not used in these posts. Alona’s call to arms for her new #CemeteryDay of the year is a chance to showcase a bit more of this amazing cemetery.

First of all, I had a bit of fun and made a “spooky” cemetery photo which you can see at the top of the post. The original photo is this one:

The original non-spooky photo

The original non-spooky photo

The tree on the left is actually growing in the grave. You can see a better and closer view in the Adventures in Confusion and Dehydration post.

Here are the rest of the photos:

Toowong Cemetery - Gentler Slope

Toowong Cemetery – one of the gentler slopes. 

 

Toowong Cemetery

Toowong Cemetery – Lots of trees and bushes to dodge. I had to fight my way through the tree (straight ahead) to try and read the headstones.

 

Toowong Cemetery

Toowong Cemetery – Swathes of green grass meaning lots of unmarked graves

 

Toowong Cemetery

Toowong Cemetery: One of the restored gravesites

 

Toowong Cemetery

Toowong Cemetery: Plaque on restored gravesite

 

 

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

SaveSave

This entry was posted in Cemetery, Genealogy, Headstone, Photograph, Toowong Cemetery and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to #CemeteryDay – Toowong Cemetery

  1. Alona Tester says:

    Thanks so much for participating Ruth. it looks like a beautiful cemetery.

    Like

    • Thanks for suggesting the idea, Alona. It gave me a chance to show these photos. It really is an amazing cemetery. You can easily spend days there. I met more experienced searchers who came with picnic lunches. That’s when I knew I’d severely underestimated how much time I needed! 🙂

      Like

  2. crissouli says:

    It certainly is an interesting cemetery… we have a number of family and friends there. Some parts are very steep and very difficult to get around. Love your photos…

    Like

  3. crissouli says:

    I have included your blog in INTERESTING BLOGS in FRIDAY FOSSICKING at

    http://thatmomentintime-crissouli.blogspot.com/2017/06/friday-fossicking-23rd-june-2017.html

    Thank you, Chris

    Like

Please leave a comment. I would love to hear from you.

