Do-Over? But I just started!

MauritiusSunset
Welcome to my first post!

I started my family research about 20 years ago, BC. That is, Before Computers. I did my time in state archives working the microfiche and microfilm machines, handling original immigration record books (!), writing letters etc, etc.

Some would say, looking through their rose-coloured glasses, that was a better time…a simpler time…and that these days people have unrealistic expectations about research. Hmmmm. I reckon that is a discussion for another time. I’ve seen that Pandora’s box opened far too many times on forums and Facebook to get swallowed up by that debate.

Anyway, it was my grandmother and my mother who started me in my research and told me family stories. However, I had to put my research to one side as life got in the way, as it usually does. My research was boxed up and never really unpacked as we moved from place to place. Finally, about two years ago, I thought it would be a good time to get back into my research. I started pulling all the old paper files out of their hidey holes, rolled up my sleeves and dived in…

And promptly started drowning in the oceans of online data that was suddenly available to me! There were all these wonderful records easily and freely available and I didn’t even have to leave the house! Insanity! I’m afraid the abundance of information went to my head for awhile and, about 4 months ago, I rather giddily came to the surface, spluttering and gulping for air to find all these files downloaded and strewn all over my computer system like empty wine bottles after a very wild party.

All through this time, I’d been reading forum discussions about Genealogy research standards and citations and so on but glossing over it all as I thought I had it all under control. But, little by little, I came to the realisation that the way I was organising my data was not working. I was repeating research, I rather embarrassingly had bought the same record more than once on a few occasions and my digital filing was not keeping up with my written records. It was all a bit of a mess, really.

And then I came across…The Genealogy Do-Over! Like a knight on his white charger, Thomas MacEntee had arrived to save the day, and my sanity, and I grabbed for the lifeline with both hands…And now the adventure begins!

This entry was posted in Do-Over, Genealogy, Organisation and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a comment. I would love to hear from you.

